Antonie Stam

Executive Co-Director

Antonie Stam is Leggett & Platt Distinguished Professor of Information Systems and Professor of Management in the Trulask College of Business. He received a Ph.D. from the University of Kansas in 1986. He previously was a Professor in the Department of Management Information Systems at the University of Georgia. He has also served in Visiting Professor and Research Scientist roles in Belgium, Austria, and France. Professor Stam is a member of the Association for Information Systems, American Statistical Association, and Decision Sciences Institute. His primary research interests include applied artificial intelligence, decision support systems, multi-criteria decision making, applied statistics, and time series analysis. He has published in a wide variety of scholarly journals, including Management Science, Decision Sciences, Journal of the American Statistical Association, European Journal of Operational Research, and Journal of Multi-Criteria Decision Analysis.


Randall Smith

Executive Co-Director

Randall Smith, BJ ’74, is the first Donald W. Reynolds Endowed Chair in Business Journalism. He joined the Missouri School of Journalism in August, 2009. His 30-year career at The Kansas City Star began in 1979, and he has worked on both the news and business sides. Smith started as a copy editor, rising to the positions of business editor and deputy managing editor, and most recently, to director of strategic development.

Smith is a former president of the Society of American Business Writers and Editors (SABEW) and a recipient of the organization’s Distinguished Achievement Award. He played a major role in conceiving the idea and raising the money for the School’s SABEW endowed chair.

He is the vice chair and first non-family member of the board of the Alfred Friendly Press Fellowships. The author of the book “A Kenyan Journey,” Smith has lectured to classes in China, Africa and the U.S. Throughout his career Smith has been involved with helping promote young minority journalists, and he played a key role in getting Knight Ridder to adopt the Rotating Internship Program, which placed more than 250 journalists into newspapers during a 20-year run.

As an editor Smith has worked with award-winning newsroom teams that have earned the profession’s top awards and honors. One team won a Pulitzer Prize in 1982 for coverage of the Kansas City Hyatt skywalks disaster in July 1981. Other staff recognitions include a Sigma Delta Chi award, an Eppy award, a Philip Meyer Award, twelve Missouri Press Association Gold Cups and a Nancy Dickerson Whitehead Award.

Smith received the Mizzou Alumni Association’s highest recognition, the Faculty-Alumni Award, in 2005.


Richard Johnson


Richard Johnson is a member of the Academy of Management, Strategic Management Society, Academy of International Business and the Southern Management Association. His research interests include corporate restructuring and governance (both domestic and international), IPOs and strategy and governance changes in the pre- and post-IPO firm, international diversification and corporate social performance. His teaching interests are in the areas of strategic management, entrepreneurship, organization change and research methods. He has received several research and teaching awards. His publications appear in the Academy of Management Journal, Strategic Management Journal, Journal of Management, Journal of Management Studies and Business and Society, among others. He currently serves on the editorial review boards of Organization Science and the Journal of Management and has served on the Academy of Management Journal editorial review board. Before rejoining the College of Business at the University of Missouri he was a faculty member and holder of the Puterbaugh Chair in American Enterprise in the Price College at the University of Oklahoma.


Amy McCombs


Amy McCombs is the Lee Hills Chair in Free-Press Studies. She spent the majority of her career in media with executive management responsibilities at both the Chronicle Publishing Company in San Francisco and the Broadcast Division of the Washington Post Company. She was the president and CEO of Chronicle Broadcasting with properties in San Francisco, Omaha and Kansas.

McCombs has been recognized a chief executive and business leader with broad-based experience in the information media, financial service, higher education and nonprofit sectors. She is widely acknowledged for transforming traditional, legacy-based organizations into proactive businesses ready to respond to changing competitive, regulatory and technology environments. McCombs was at the forefront of technological advances and the creation of news content for multiple media platforms.


Les Borgemeyer


Serve as adjunct professor for graduate course in management/journalism, Entrepreneurship and New Media.

    Faculty Fellows

    School of Journalism

    Clyde Bentley
    Paul Bolls
    Brian Brooks
    Glen Cameron
    Mike McKean
    Dean Mills, Dean
    Shelly Rodgers
    CDIG Exec. Co-Director Randall Smith
    Harsh Taneja
    Esther Thorson

    Robert J. Trulaske, Sr. College of Business

    Murali Mantrala
    Detelina Marinova
    CDiG Executive Co-Director Antonie Stam
    Bruce Walker

    College of Arts and Sciences

    James Endersby
    Monika Fischer
    Jonathan Krieckhaus
    Carsten Strathausen

    College of Human Environmental Sciences

    Bimal Balakrishnan
    Kitty Dickerson
    Jung E. Ha-Brookshire
    Jana Hawley, Chair
    Stephen Jorgensen, Dean
    MyungHee Sohn
    Sarah Song
    Rob Weagley

    School of Law

    Peter Davis
    William B. Fisch

    College of Education

    Sanda Erdelez
    Joi Moore
    Laura Wedman

    College of Engineering

    C. Alec Chang
    Henry He
    Yuyi Lin
    Carlos Sun

    Truman School of Public Affairs

    Thomas G. Johnson
    Jim Scott

    © Center for the Digital Globe